The ALL Florida Online Corvette Club

Corvette Top Sites

Go Back   The ALL Florida Online Corvette Club > General Corvette Forums > Maintenance, Mods, & Tips

Photo Gallery Screen Saver!      

Maintenance, Mods, & Tips Mods | Tips | Repairs & Troubleshooting

Unread 10-09-2006, 09:10 AM   #1
Guro305
Heathen

Name :
Guro305 is on a distinguished road
Default Still a rookie please advise....

.....I'm still a rookie to my C5 so I'm uncertain of a few things, especially since I don't have a manual. Two questions I have.

One, at what percentage should you change the oil? Below 50%, 60%, etc. And secondly, since the tranny fluid is synthetic also, when do you change that sucker out? I've never dealt with a work of art like this before so I do appreciate the feedback. Thanks. =)

-C5 Chevy Corvette - Torch Red
-Gen 3 Pontiac Trans Am - Pearl Black
-B14 Nissan Sentra GXE - Pearl Black
Guro305 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 10-09-2006, 09:27 AM   #2
MADN3SS

Name :
MADN3SS is on a distinguished road

Quote:
Originally Posted by Guro305
.....I'm still a rookie to my C5 so I'm uncertain of a few things, especially since I don't have a manual. Two questions I have.

One, at what percentage should you change the oil? Below 50%, 60%, etc. And secondly, since the tranny fluid is synthetic also, when do you change that sucker out? I've never dealt with a work of art like this before so I do appreciate the feedback. Thanks. =)
The oil percentage actually goes down based on your driving habits. Most times I change mine when it gets down to about 25% or 3-4 months. Everyone is gonna be different on this. Mobil and GM say that the system will show you when to change it, usually between 3000 and 15000 miles. Mines at about 50% now, but I recently went on a 2k trip, so I'm going to do it soon.

I don't have an answer on the tranny fluid. I have changed mine out though to Amsoil. Same with the gear oil. Good stuff.